The Singapore Aerospace Technology Leadership Forum (SATLF) 2024 was convened on 19 February 2024, bringing together thought leaders and industry experts from leading global aerospace companies. Co-organised by A*STAR (the Agency for Science, Technology and Research) and the Association of Aerospace Industries (Singapore) (AAIS), and supported by the Singapore Economic Development Board, this premier forum explored critical themes shaping the future of aerospace.

The event was graced by Singapore’s Minister of State for Trade and Industry, Ms Low Yen Ling. In her opening address, Ms Low emphasised the significance of the aerospace sector in Singapore’s economy, highlighting its resilience and adaptability amid global challenges. She underscored the importance of innovation, research, and collaboration in driving the industry forward, reinforcing the government’s commitment to supporting aerospace technology development.

Building on this message, the forum underscored the industry’s commitment to innovation and the development of aerospace technology towards a greener future for flight. Over two panel discussion sessions, nine Chief Technology Officers, many from the AAIS membership, shared breathtaking concepts of the future being developed today.

In Panel 1 on Smart Aerospace, speakers delved into the transformative potential of digital technologies to revolutionise every aspect of aerospace operations. From integrating artificial intelligence to leveraging digital solutions and robotics, the panel explored ways to enhance aircraft manufacturing, maintenance, and overall industry resilience. The following industry leaders shared their insights:

  • Dr. Todd Citron, Chief Technology Officer, The Boeing Company
  • Dr. Francis Preli, Vice President, Propulsion & Materials Technologies, Pratt & Whitney
  • Mr. David So, Senior Vice President, Corporate Planning & Continuous Improvement, SIA Engineering Company
  • Dr. Sean Black, Chief Technology Officer and Chief Engineer, Spirit AeroSystems
  • Dr. Bernhard Quendt, Group Chief Technology Officer, Thales

Moderator: Mr. Mervyn Tan, Chief Executive, Defence Science and Technology Agency

The second panel on Net Zero 2050 focused on sustainability strategies towards the industry’s goal of net-zero carbon emissions by 2050. Discussions centred on the development and implementation of sustainable solutions for reducing the environmental impact of aviation. Leaders explored promising avenues, including the use of sustainable aviation fuels (SAF), electric and hybrid-electric propulsion technologies, and advancements in aircraft design that optimize fuel efficiency. Speakers for the session were:

  • Mr. Stephen McCullough, Senior Vice President, Engineering & Product Development, Bombardier
  • Mr. Todd Giles, Chief Technology Officer, Honeywell
  • Mr. Simon Burr, Group Director of Engineering, Technology & Safety, Rolls-Royce
  • Ms. Lee Hui Fung, Senior Vice President & Head, Innovation and Continuous Improvement, ST Engineering

Moderator: Mr. Sia Kheng Yok, Chief Executive, Association of Aerospace Industries (Singapore)

In light of recent global disruptions, the forum also addressed the critical need for building strong and adaptable supply chains within the aerospace industry. Strategies put forth included diversification of suppliers, collaboration and sharing of resources, and leveraging technologies such as blockchain for enhanced supply chain transparency, advanced analytics for better demand forecasting, and additive manufacturing for on-demand production of critical parts.

The forum concluded on a positive note, with participants expressing optimism for the future of Singapore’s aerospace sector. Emphasis was placed on the importance of continued investment in innovation, fostering collaboration across the industry, and nurturing a skilled workforce. The discussions also served as a call to action for the aerospace industry, setting the stage for driving the next wave of advancements.

We extend our heartfelt gratitude to our partner A*STAR, speakers, and attendees for their invaluable contributions, insights, and active participation.